Monday, December 11, 2017

Allure Beauty Box (April 2016)

Allure Beauty Box is one of my favorite subscription services. A little background:

"Allure editors uncover the most noteworthy beauty products on the market, from hair and makeup to skin care, fragrance, and more. Then, they personally try and review each product, hand-selecting the ones they love — and know you'll love, too. And finally, here comes the fun: a glossy red box is delivered directly to your doorstep filled with the expert-approved products that are sure to become your new favorites."

Here's what's included:
  • Five to seven deluxe-size beauty samples—so you can use each one more than once
  • Curated mix of skin, hair, and makeup products, as well as fragrance
  • Allure mini-mag, packed with in-depth beauty sample product reviews written by Allure editors
I really dig the mini-mag. Very professional and so much information on the products! Definitely the best, most descriptive tool I've seen in any box. Each page has a "What It Is," "How It Looks/Feels," "Why We Like It" and the retail price of the full-sized item. Some products have a "What It Does," as well as a "Key Ingredients" list. A lot of people have allergies or find certain ingredients affect their skin in negative ways, so I think this bonus information is great.

Here's what I received:

FEKKAI Brilliant Glossing Styling Creme (2oz, $10) - A frizz-fighting, shine-enhancing cream that gives dull hair a sleek, healthy-looking sheen and protects from heat damage. The key ingredient is olive oil which conditions. The silky, lightweight cream smells green and fresh.

DDF Wrinkle Resist Plus Pore Minimizer Moisturizing Serum(0.5oz, $25) - A line and pore minimizing serum that instantly fills in pores to make skin smoother and diminishes fine lines over time. Key ingredients include Vitamin B5, Vitamin E and glycerin (moisturizes); silicone (smooths); Vitamin C and retinol (stimulates cell turnover). The clear gel has a double helix of peach gel running through it. The color disappears into a soft sheen on the skin.

I agree about the scent of the styling creme. I'm passing on this product because I have several big hair care projects coming up. The serum is also going to be passed on as tempting as it is. I primarily use k-beauty products for my face and have a huge stock, but another reason I'm passing on this is that it contains silicone which is something I try to stay away from.

BVLGARI Goldea EDP (017oz - $11.20) - A "floriental" fragrance that's a little earthy and a lot sexy with notes of orange blossom, ylang-ylang, jasmine and patchouli.

L'OCCITANE Almond Shower Oil 2.5oz, ~$7.44) - A cleansing and moisturizing body oil which washes and softens skins. This golden oil slips easily over skin with just a subtle lather. It's deliciously nutty scent leaves your shower (and skin) smelling like an almond tart.

I'll definitely be keeping the eau de parfum. First, I collect deluxe samples of fragrances whether I like them or not. They make for a beautiful display. But I also like the smell. It's mature without being old-ladyish, and seductive. I'm very excited about the shower oil. First of all, L'Occitane. Enough said. But I'll say more anyway. When I first smelled it, I was like, wow! Too strong. However, it faded to a lovely almond scent that reminded me of passing a bottle of amaretto back and forth with my best friend.


L'OREAL PARIS Voluminous Original Mascara in Black Noir (0.28oz FULL-SIZE, $8.99) - Uniquely formulated to resist clumping, softens lashes to 5X their natural thickness. Quickly thickens and builds lashes evenly for a full and dramatic look. Formulated with Panthenol and Ceramide-R to protect and condition lashes, leaving them supple and soft to the touch, resisting clumping and flaking.

MALLY Evercolor Shaping Lip Pencil in Neutral Red (0.01oz FULL-SIZE, ~$8.67) - A creamy, long-wearing pencil available in eight shades of pink and red. The formula glides on smoothly and deposits opaque pigment that sets instantly. Despite its matte texture, it's not overly drying and won't feather.

The mascara was not in the mini mag, so I don't know if it was a bonus or what. I probably won't be using the it as I have a massive stock already, including this one. I will certainly use the lip liner. I have very few, if any... I'm not sure because I recently threw out some older cosmetics, and I also have some gorgeous red lipsticks to use it with.

I calculate this April 2016 box to have a value of $71.30. That's incredible value for a box that only costs $15. There was also a LOT of diversity in the product selection. Although I'll pass on three and keep three, everything is great. Can't wait to see what's next!

Friday, December 8, 2017

Glossybox (April 2016)

Glossybox is a monthly subscription that delivers beauty products - hair care, skin care, makeup, perfumes, tools, etc. to your door for $21 per month if you buy the monthly plan, but that price goes down if you buy a 3-, 6- or 12-month subscription.

Glossybox carries some of the best brands in beauty. Each box contains five or more items from full-sized to deluxe samples. Following are the contents of my April box:

NOT YOUR MOTHER'S HAIRCARE Beach Babe Texturizing Sea Salt Spray (2oz, $3.00 FULL-SIZE) - Effortless beach waves are always in style and this hard-working spray not only creates texture and volume, but also helps hold updos with nourishing Dead Sea salt and sea kelp. Whether you use this on damp hair to bring out natural texture or before blow drying for added volume, the uses are endless!

TIDBIT: Kelp, a large seaweed plant, is known to contain many of the nutrients that promote and sustain hair growth. It has a variety of vitamins including A, B1, B2 and C which serve to strengthen the hair shaft.

LEIGHTON DENNY EXPERT NAILS Nail Polish in Pillow Talk (0.4oz, $19.00 FULL-SIZE) - The perfect nail color for winter's transition into spring, this berry-hued polish is everything your accessories closet has been asking for.


STUDIO | 10 Brow Lift Perfecting Liner ($20.00 FULL-SIZE) - Brows have made a major comeback and to help you sift through endless products, we've brought you STUDIO | 10's double-sided brow liner to naturally define and highlight.

WOW: For every pencil sold, STUDIO | 10 donates 100% of its profits to Look Good Feel Better, a charity which supports women with cancer, making a difference one brow at a time.

UNANI Dermo Defense Face Mask (3.4oz, $18.00) - Hydrating and protecting the skin is exactly what the Dermo Defense Face Mask promises to do! Combining Aloe and Ayurvedic herbs, your face will thank you with a glowing visage.

TIDBIT: Did you know masking 1-2 times a week can actually help your skin to fully absorb your daily products more efficiently?

BIOSSANCE The Nourisher, Precious Rose Face Oil (0.14oz, ~$10.08) - Blended with an elixir of roses, this luxurious face oil adds a shot of powerful vitamin C and plant-derived squalane into your skincare routine. Simultaneously repairing as it locks in the moisture, The Nourisher is a must-have! Enjoy $20 off the full-size face oil ($72 value) using code 'GLOSSYBOX20' at biossance.com (if the code still works). 😕

This box's value is $70.08. Not too shabby when it only cost $21. Unfortunately for me, I believe I will be giving away all of these products. I have face masks and face oils of all sorts... enough to last me ten years (and I prefer k-beauty for skin care). My nail polish collection is turning into a really good start for a hoarding situation. I'm still not into the eyebrow trends. I just assume get a good wax. And last, but not least, I've got some really great beach texturizing spray from Bumble & Bumble. Don't get me wrong. This is a fantastic box and I'm positive one of my friends or family members will be ecstatic to take it off my hands! Plus there was one little extra that sounds very appealing.



DOORSTEP DESSERTS (50% off with code 'GLOSSY'... if it still works) - WHAT IS IT? A box containing all the pre-portioned ingredients you need to make chef-inspired desserts at home. HOW DOES IT WORK? Pick the subscription that's right for you. No matter how often you crave dessert, they've got something to fit your needs! Don't worry, they'll never lock you in to one of those wordy contracts. Pause or cancel at any time, no questions asked. They will ship FREE to your door. No extra shopping or wasted ingredients. You easily create awesome gourmet desserts in your own kitchen!

Now this sounds like true love. I am addicted to the pre-packed meal delivery services so this is right up my alley. I very much like to cook and bake. Having everything brought to me and pre-portioned... excellent! I'm excited to try this service.

Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Memebox Haul & Review

I'm a k-beauty-aholic. I would previously have called myself a Memebox-aholic, but when they streamlined their operations in the United States, there actually were no more Memeboxes. I loved those boxes. Different products by different brands focusing on a particular theme. And you never knew what was included in the boxes! It was Christmas every time I received an order. Spent thousands on hundreds of products (shhh... don't tell my husband). Ultimately though, everything was extremely cheap. Each box was worth three or more times what I paid for them. And the k-beauty products were always amazing. More natural, less chemicals, better results than any expensive Western product.

Back then I also accumulated points for every purchase so I got quite a bit of free stuff. I received a notice back in early 2017 saying my points would be no good after May, so I used what I had left for one last haul. Something that Memebox turned me on to way before they were popular in the U.S. was sheet masks. And new ones were coming out of Korea all the time. So of course when I saw the animal sheet masks, I knew that's what I wanted for my "final" order. Surprisingly, I was offered some free item choices as well so I got a pug sheet mask and some primer samples. The masks cost $12 + $8 shipping and handling. I used my 340 points ($17) along with a 10% off code (101SMILES... probably no longer works) and in the end only paid $1.80. Pretty sweet deal, huh?!?!?!

Here are the products I received, in greater detail, and what I thought of them:


7-Piece Animal Mask Set by BERRISOM - Each animal sheet mask boasts different magical ingredients and special powers to help revitalize and moisturize skin. Some of the benefits included in each mask are arbutin, hyaluronic acid, niacinamide, licorice root extract, allantoin and adenosine. Look 'em up. All good stuff. They're all made without triclosan, silicones, sulfates, formaldehyde, talc, dye, propylene glycol, parabens and mineral oil. Look 'em up. All bad stuff. Each mask stars a different main ingredient with special effects:
I'm wearing the baby pug mask from below (I'm on
the left) and my beautiful fellow k-beauty
enthusiast is wearing the cat mask from the left
(she's on the right). We probably should have
applied one another's... we were a little sloppy!
  • Cat Mask - Purr-fect for dry, rough, and dull skin, this cat mask boasts Marine Collagen, a highly revitalizing ingredient that firms up skin and boosts elasticity. 
  • Dog Mask - Ruff skin? This dog mask features Hyaluronic Acid, which means major moisture for your skin. 
  • Monkey Mask - We're bananas for this monkey mask dripping with premium Snail Slime Filtrate! Snail Slime, as you may know, is popular for its repairing, moisturizing, and rejuvenating properties. 
  • Panda Mask - When your skin's in a panda-monium, this Blackberry Extract-infused mask will come to the rescue. It's packed with antioxidants to whip skin back into its healthiest state. You can also kiss dark circles goodbye. They're cute on pandas, but not really on us. 
  • Raccoon Mask - Raccoon eyes have no place on your face! This raccoon mask helps prevent such early signs of aging, including premature wrinkles and fine lines, thanks to its concentration of Placenta and Adenosine. 
  • Sheep Mask - There's no need to be sheepish about your skin. This sheep mask contains Vitamin C and Arbutin, which enhance the complexion by brightening the skin. 
  • Tiger Mask - Infused with Red Korean Ginseng, this tiger mask is rich with nutrients and antioxidants to strengthen the skin's immunity against harsh environmental elements. It eliminates dead skin and increases skin's water retention.
Baby Pet Magic Sheet Mask (Anti-Wrinkle Pug) by HOLIKA HOLIKA - This cute character mask not only improves your skin health, but also features a fun high-tech design that magically transforms the animal's face too! Both you and your pet will be looking more youthful in no time. This adorable pug sheet mask hydrates and firms up skin with Collagen, lessening the appearance of wrinkles and fine lines. It also brightens the complexion with Niacinamide and soothes skin with Allaintoin, leaving your texture smooth and skin radiant. Also includes Adenosine and Hyaluronic Acid. It's free from triclosan, talc, alcohol, parabens, propylene glycol, coal tar, dye, sulfates, formaldehyde, mineral oil and silicones.

I love sheet masks. You just can't go wrong. I already have a practically flawless complexion (don't hate... I've been diligently taking care of my skin since I was 20... 20 years later, the results speak for themselves), so adding this kind of mask (as opposed to sleeping packs) to my skincare routine once a week is not only beneficial but also fun.

                                                                                                                                                               

After years of pushing other manufacturers' products, Memebox created their own brand that include skin care and makeup of all sorts. The name of their line is PONY and everything is very high quality. I have loads of PONY products and love all of them.

Ultimate Prep Primers by PONY EFFECTS - The result of these primers is more matte and porcelain-like skin with a soft, even surface that allows makeup to apply seamlessly and stay flawless longer. From left to right:

Hydrate (for dry skin) - Ideal for dry skin, this hydrating gel type primer moisturizes skin to calm dry, flaky skin and provides a smooth canvas.

Moisture & Sebum Control - Ideal for oily or combination skin, this milky lotion-type primer moisturizes skin to even it out and to control excess oil without drying out skin.

Original (for oily skin) Ideal for uneven or oily skin with large pores, this silky and balmy primer fills in large pores so your skin looks smooth like porcelain.

Ultimate Prep Primers from left to right: Hydrate (for dry skin),
Moisture & Sebum Control, Original (for oily skin)
The primer for dry skin was very moisturizing and left a dewy, almost shimmery look to my skin. The primer for moisture and sebum control was a little thinner consistency-wise and left a nice matte canvas for makeup application. The primer for oily skin was really thick and cakey. There were no moisturizing effects to it, but it did leave the most dry matte surface. I most appreciated the dry skin primer although I don't have dry skin (on my face). I liked the youthfulness of this pretty pink gel.

Another great haul from Memebox, but you can't really go wrong with k-beauty. I direct my friends who inquire about the lack of wrinkles and dark spots on my nearly 40 year old face to Memebox or the other brands they no longer sell but that you can find on either Sephora's or Ulta's websites. Once they try k-beauty, they rarely go back to the chemical-filled products they find in drugstores and retailers here in the U.S.

Monday, November 27, 2017

A . N Other Limited-Edition Fragrances


"A. N. Other was born out of a belief that there's a purer way to craft and sell luxury fragrances. A way that makes signature scents accessible by investing in what goes into the bottle, not what goes inside the pages of a glossy magazine. No expensive boutiques or lavish adverts. Just Parfum grade scents created from the finest ingredients and sold directly to the people that love them."

"Each year they offer the most exciting perfumers in the world an opportunity to create the four core scents: floral, woody, orients and fresh. Then they leave them alone. Great perfumery is an art, and they believe artists create their best work when they work without constraint. That's why they will never issue fragrance briefs or compromise on ingredients."

For $5, you can buy a sample sealed inside a label with each fragrance from Collection/18 incorporated into a concentrated gel. The cost will be deducted from your purchase once you've found your fragrance.


A. N. Other was kind enough to send me a 15ML bottle of each of their Collection/18, which gave me a chance to wear them all in public and really experience the delicate changes that occur throughout the day as perfumes often do. When a scent is applied to your skin, it mixes with your own oils and becomes a personal fragrance for each person.

Here are each perfume's description and my impressions before reading any of the provided material for each scent.


I first tried FL/18, the most feminine of all of the collection. "This complex, yet playful exploration of light and dark textures brings a modern twist to classic perfumer notes. A rich base of sumptuous dark leather is punctuated by the elegance of night blooming jasmine. Nostalgic notes of sweet cotton candy and herbal mate add a contemporary lightness to the perfume."

My Impression - Wow! I was way off! Initially it seemed a bit overwhelming, like an older lady's scent. Perhaps I applied it too liberally. The first notes I (thought I) smelled was white lilies. Then it seemed to have a fruit smell, like plums or pomegranates. By the end of the day I was catching notes of magnolia or cherry blossoms.

My husband didn't care for it at first, but as I said, I think I put far too much on. It's strong so it doesn't take much. These perfumes could last a long time. He thought it was too flowery. But later in the day he loved it and said it smelled of citrus. What does he know? What do I know??? 😋


FR/18 draws "inspiration from the resurgence of classic gin cocktails, aldehydic top notes shake the clean blend of crisp juniper and Madagascan ginger alive with a freshness that fizzes and excites the senses. Metallic musk unifies a perfectly mixed blend enhancing each note and completing the composition."

My Impression - I was far more accurate detecting notes with this perfume. I found it to be somewhat masculine. A scent I wouldn't mind on my own husband. I first smelled alcohol, like gin. But the second scent was most like clean linen to me. However, I definitely picked out the musk towards the end.

Surprisingly, my husband did not like it. Perhaps because it was on me. He's never smelled a masculine perfume on me. If he'd had it on himself, I bet he would've liked it much better.


OR/18 is "a dreamy blend of the exotic and the familiar. This exceptional perfume with a driftwood base uses a rare cannabis accord to accentuate mystical incense notes. Sweet citrus, coffee aromas and edible notes of chocolate and bakery come alive on the skin as the perfume dries."

MY IMPRESSION - I once again was way off with my guesses of what I was smelling. Honestly, this one reminded me so much of a perfume my mother wore during my youth. It was an AVON scent called Imari. Imari is described as having top notes of Italian lemon, bergamot, aldehydes; middle notes of iris, jasmine, rose; and dry notes of amber, vanilla, patchouli. Honestly, I never felt Imari smelled like its description.

I did pick up the the lightest of coffee and chocolate, but much of the bakery, which came off strongly of vanilla. Over the course of the day it faded into a nice, light fragrance.

The husband said eloquently, and I quote, "It's alright."


The last that I tried was WD/18. "Created to fully harness the power of the olfactory senses, this perfume utilizes the tranquil and nourishing qualities of sandalwood to enhance concentration and awaken intuition. An infusion  of lush, effervescent pear at the top adds a distinct uplifting quality and an unmistakably modern appeal."

MY IMPRESSIONS - I immediately thought of the forest. My husband however, thought of spices. Thyme, maybe, and I had to agree. This was not a strong scent, but it lasted all day in my bedroom. It was lovely to come home to and fall asleep to. A very pleasant perfume, although I would prefer it on my husband.

These fragrances are created by iconic perfumers, comparable in quality and craftsmanship to premium, and very expensive brands, that sell north of $150 for 50ML and $250 for 100ML. You're receiving a 65% discount that is already reflected in their pricing since at the core of their brand is the philosophy that everyone should be able to afford and enjoy high-end, fine fragrance.


I very much enjoyed experimenting with A. N. Other's unique perfumes. They were all vastly different and distinctive. I also owe a giant apology and thank you to the company and the kind associates who forgave my delinquency getting this blog posted due to personal issues. 

I urge you all to order the sampler because, as it's been stated, scents can differ on each individual because of body oils. You can obtain it by visiting their website, https://an-other.com/shop/try-at-home/. And remember, the $5 fee will be credited to your first full-size purchase.



Thursday, June 16, 2016

Allure Beauty Box (March 2016)

*UNLIKE MANY OF MY PREVIOUS BOXES, IN ORDER TO CATCH UP, THIS WILL ONLY BE AN UNBOXING UNLESS THERE'S SOMETHING EASY TO REVIEW*

Allure Beauty Box is one of my favorite subscription services. A little background:

"Allure editors uncover the most noteworthy beauty products on the market, from hair and makeup to skin care, fragrance, and more. Then, they personally try and review each product, hand-selecting the ones they love — and know you'll love, too. And finally, here comes the fun: a glossy red box is delivered directly to your doorstep filled with the expert-approved products that are sure to become your new favorites."

Here's what's included:
  • Five to seven deluxe-size beauty samples—so you can use each one more than once
  • Curated mix of skin, hair, and makeup products, as well as fragrance
  • Allure mini-mag, packed with in-depth beauty sample product reviews written by Allure editors
I really dig the mini-mag. Very professional and so much information on the products! Definitely the best, most descriptive tool I've seen in any box. Each page has a "What It Is," "How It Looks/Feels," "Why We Like It" and the retail price of the full-sized item. Some products have a "What It Does," as well as a "Key Ingredients" list. A lot of people have allergies or find certain ingredients affect their skin in negative ways, so I think this bonus information is great.

Here's what I received:

MACADAMIA PROFESSIONAL Ultra Rich Moisture Cleansing Conditioner (2oz, $5.20) - A cleansing conditioner that gently removes buildup while softening and defrizzing. Key ingredients are macadamia oil, argan oil, and shea butter.

DP HUE ACV (1oz, ~$4.18) - A vinegar-based rinse that give hair a deep clean. Gently removes buildup from hair without stripping away its natural oils. Key ingredients include argan oil, aloe vera, glycerin, and apple cider vinegar.

The conditioner has a soft, fresh smell. The rinse smells very much like vinegar. However, I very much look forward to using them together.

JULEP Konjac Cleansing Face Sponge ($12 FULL-SIZE) - An all-natural exfoliating sponge that buffs away the muck from your face, leaving a softer, smoother complexion. Includes charcoal which unclogs pores.

NUNZIO SAVIANO Anti-Frizz Sheets (2 @ $1.50 each) - Oil-infused hair-smoothing sheets that tame frizz. Key ingredients are coconut oil, castor oil, and dimethiconol.

I've been interested in the face sponge since I first saw them on Julep's website. Julep's products are very high-quality. At first I only use their polishes, but have enjoyed their hand cleaners and hand lotions immensely. I've also recently became a fan of their lip glosses and shadows. I'm not sure about the anti-frizz sheets... Do I use them or do I pass them on? I haven't decided yet.

MAKE UP FOR EVER HD Microfinish Powder (0.035oz, ~$3.97) - A loose, translucent finishing powder. It's white in the container but disappears on the skin.

CARGO Bronzer in Medium and Blush in Catalina (0.105oz, $26.00) - A powder bronzer and a pearly pink blush in one container. The caramel-colored powder blends easily over skin for a streak-free finish. The pearly pink blush is a supersoft and silky powder that goes on smoothly and just a touch of shimmer.

L'OREAL PARIS Infallible Pro-Last Lipcolor in Violet Parfait (0.1oz, $12.99 FULL-SIZE) - This is the long-lasting, transfer-resistant color you’ve been searching for. The high-intensity color glides on with a moisturizing feel that lasts up to 24 hours.The result: bold lips without the dry-out and no need to re-apply. Step 1: Apply High Intensity Color for true color pay-off that resists transfer, fading & bleeding. Step 2: Apply Pro-Seal Balm to lock in color and leave lips feeling moisturized.

I probably won't be using any of these products. I don't use makeup often enough to require microfinish powder. I almost never use bronzer (I'm white as a ghost) or blush (kinda naturally blessed with pink cheeks - don't hate), and the lip color is not complimentary to my tea-stained teeth. See, I said don't hate.

I calculate this March box to have a value of $67.34. The value is there but there's not much variety. However the products I will use sound amazing. Can't wait to see what's next!

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Glossybox (March 2016)

Glossybox is a monthly subscription that delivers beauty products - hair care, skin care, makeup, perfumes, tools, etc. to your door for $21 per month if you buy the monthly plan, but that price goes down if you buy a 3-, 6- or 12-month subscription.

Glossybox carries some of the best brands in beauty. Each box contains five items from full-sized to deluxe samples. Following are the contents of my March box:

ONESTA Volumizing Shampoo & Conditioner (3oz, ~$5.67 shampoo, (3oz, $6.00 conditioner) - Color safe for all hair types, Onesta's shampoo and conditioner are exactly what your winter-ravaged locks need. Between the rosemary, Willow bark and lemongrass, this formula works together with natural amino acids to reduce static and enhance shine.

HOW. EXCITING. For once, samples of shampoo and conditioner that are large enough to see some results. AND you get both. So many subscriptions only send one or the other. The shampoo smells intoxicating of lemon, and while the conditioner doesn't have a strong smell, it is pleasant.


I LOVE... COSMETICS Super Soft Hand Lotion (2.5oz, $6.00 FULL-SIZE!- Need a burst of summer scents to bring you back to the beach during the cold winter months? Reminiscent of all things fresh, this hand lotion is exactly what the doctor ordered to keep you inspired and moisturized.

LUXIE BEAUTY Rose Gold Large Angled Face Brush 504 ($16.00 FULL-SIZE!) - Designed to fit the natural contours of the face, this angled brush is ideal for contouring and highlighting. Its super soft bristles define your natural bone structure and leave a traceless, smooth finish.

Okay, I can never get enough hand creams. This one is coconut-y but not over the top. Scent reminds me of pie. This isn't greasy and leaves your skin very soft. I'm not sure about the brush. I'm sure it's lovely, but I have so many, and I don't even really use products that require a brush. I'll pass this on to my more makeup-friendly peeps.

TOO FACED Melted Liquified Long Wear Lipstick in Chihuahua (0.16oz, $8.40- If you haven't heard yet, liquid lipstick is where it's at! Get the lasting power of a stain, the intense color of a lipstick, and the high shine of a gloss in one product.

EYEKO Eye Do Liquid Liner (0.04oz, ~$11.43) - Alexa Chung can tell you that this is definitely not just another liquid liner. This carbon black formula promotes longer, fuller lashes as well as helps to create the perfect cat eye.

The lipstick I'm sure is great. I like Too Faced Products, but I'm not convinced it's my color so I'm going back and forth between keeping or passing. I've never had much luck with liquid liner, but I'm always willing to try a new one. Hopefully I'll find it to work better than others.

This box had a total value of $61.30. That's really good. I'm also going to keep at least four of the products... maybe five. There was also a great variety of products. As usual, I'm looking forward to next month!

Monday, June 13, 2016

Candy Club (April 2016)


Each Candy Club shipment includes:

- A carefully curated selection of the most popular, premium candy from timeless classics to contemporary favorites packed into three of our signature containers (up to 3 pounds).

- A unique surprise confection which our candy-loving experts have scoured the globe to find for your enjoyment.

- A delicious splash of all-time favorite goodies.

The box came festively decorated with sturdy, artful candy containers, and a helpful card detailing all of the candy included. 

I received:

DORVAL Sour Power Pink Lemonade Straws

The power of sour is evident in this fun straw candy starting with a burst of sour lemonade tang followed by a satisfying sweetness that is chewy and flavorful. You won't be able to eat just one.

Umm... no. You can only eat just one. These are crazy sour. Not that I didn't love them... I did. They were fun and tasty to eat. I enjoy lemonade flavored ANYTHING!

ALBANESE Mini Gummi Butterflies

These delicate little butterflies offer delicious fruit flavors of grape, strawberry, orange, blue raspberry, wild cherry and green apple. Hold onto them if you can because these sweet treats will be flying away!

Yum. I love gummies. I will say however, the flavors were pretty similar. Sure, orange tasted like orange, and the wild cherry tasted like cherry, but the grape, strawberry, blue raspberry, and green apple were pretty similar. I think if I was blindfolded, I probably wouldn't know the difference between any. That's cool. They were yummy.

DORVAL Sour Power Wild Cherry Belts

Pucker up and savor! These delicious sour belts will tantalize your taste buds with cherry flavor that will have you smacking your lips and begging for more. Hold on tight and get ready for a wild cherry flavored thrill ride!

These were very similar to the pink lemonade straws, just cherry rather than lemon. Sour, sour, sour! My husband loved these very much, so they are currently residing with him.

What's most disappointing is that the only other Candy Club box I received contained this. So along with the lemonade straws, it's like I've already received the same thing twice in this box. But the third thing I already received is:

Sweet's Cotton Candy Salt Water Taffy

As an added treat. This juicy, chewy, and mouth-watering taffy tastes just like the real thing in miniature form.

Well... I don't know that I would say this tastes like cotton candy. More like vanilla, which is A-okay. I like vanilla taffy. This will be enjoyed. But I am disappointed that I've received the same stuff in two boxes. Hopefully my recent contact with Candy Club will change this going forward.

All in all, I wasn't disappointed, nor was I thrilled. Too much repetition. The candy is tasty. I'd just like new candies to try. I look forward to the next box I receive three months from now.